Liverpool got out-run 6km by Brighton on Saturday and you shouldn't get out-run. I know teams will think because it's Liverpool they've got to try and out-run us to be able to win the game, so the manager's told them that's where they've got to put the work in because they're up against good players.
Liverpool have got to match their running and match their physicality. I know I'm a bit old school, but in the first four minutes, James Milner whacks two of our players. Fair play to him. He knows how to win a game. He put Hugo Ekitike out, then he did another one.
After that, Virgil van Dijk or another player has got to let Milner know they're there, without getting sent off. Milner has had a great career and was a great player for Liverpool but he showed no respect for his former club in those opening minutes and made it clear that he wanted to win the game. That set the tone for the match.
We got back into the game with the equaliser, which we did really well for, but after that, you've got to see more.
As a defensive unit we're an absolute calamity. Every time Brighton put a ball in the box we were all over the place. Throw-ins, crosses - it doesn't matter. We haven't got enough men behind the ball.
I watched Everton on Saturday night, who did really well against Chelsea. When Chelsea had the ball out wide Everton had 10 men behind the ball, in the box, defending. We don't.
You've got to have the desire to get back. As things stand Everton have got a better defence than us. They defend basic stuff whilst we do the opposite. That's why we have to chase games most of the time.
Other teams know what to do about our frailties and they capitalise on it.
When we got it to 1-1 we could have gone on and done better, but second half they wanted it more. They had more chances and deserved to win. Giorgi Mamardashvili pulled a few saves off while their goalie only needed to deal with one or two.
There's no continuity after the decent display against Galatasaray, and from a fan's point of view, it's really frustrating. Other teams are dropping points. Aston Villa took advantage of results at the weekend. This comes down to how much these players really want Champions League qualification.
Like all of the other Liverpool fans that I speak to, we're all just bewildered with what's going on at the moment.
You're always their to be hit when you're champions. Everyone wants to be the champions. Man City dealt with it. We had far too many changes for my liking. Selling Luis Diaz was a really bad decision.
We've had some really good players come in. We're seeing Milos Kerkez now settling down. Jeremie Frimpong has settled down. Hugo Ekitike did, Alexander Isak's got to [still]. Florian Wirtz is still borderline; he's got to do more.
Next year we should see more from them, but if you don't have the desire and the hunger, it doesn't matter how good a player you are, you'll get found out.
These players could have all that but they've got show it by out-competing their opponents. We always had a saying - match them for workrate and the cream will come to the top. It might be old fashioned but that's still the case. You've got to win your battles. Sometimes I don't see too many bursting blood vessels to get back behind the ball.
They did it against Galatasaray when they had a point to prove, but you've still got to do that in every game.
The Liverpool FC, Tranmere and Republic of Ireland great, Aldo's lively and opinionated weekly column on LFC is a must read for all Reds fans.




